We are here to listen, learn & help

FREE 30-Minute Telephone/Virtual Consultation

Providing The Advice & Guidance You & Your
Family Need To Make Informed Decisions

Office Building Of Kroener Hale Law Firm

Providing The Advice & Guidance You & Your Family Need To Make Informed Decisions

  1. Home
  2.  » Criminal Defense

Criminal Defense Lawyers In Ohio

Not all criminal defense attorneys are equal. Being able to examine a case and confidently say, “I have seen this scenario before and I know how to handle it,” is worth its weight in gold in criminal defense cases. Kroener Hale Law Firm has the experience and knowledge to deal with your case and competently ensure you are represented to the best of our ability.

If you or someone you know has been charged with a criminal offense, it’s important to talk to an experienced defense attorney before you talk to the police or anyone else. Anything you say can be twisted around to mean things you never intended. To protect your freedom and your future, call 513-716-5940 to talk to one of our lawyers.

Defending You Against Criminal Charges

The following are examples of the kinds of cases we handle:

Our lawyers also handle expungements or clearing of criminal records whenever it is possible to a remove the stigma of a past arrest.

Domestic Violence Charges In Ohio

Domestic violence is the act of intentional or reckless verbal threats of violence or physical violence against a family member or member of your household (currently or formerly). A threat may be a form of domestic violence when a victim has a credible belief that they are in immediate danger.

A broad range of violent actions can lead to a domestic violence conviction. Penalties for domestic violence in Ohio greatly depend on whether a person’s actions were charged as a misdemeanor or felony:

  • A misdemeanor conviction can result in 60 days to six months in jail with a $500 to $1,000 fine.
  • A felony domestic violence conviction can lead to between six months and three years of incarceration with a $2,500 to $10,000 fine.
  • Penalties for both a misdemeanor or felony domestic violence conviction can increase if a person had a prior conviction or if a victim was pregnant and the unborn child suffered an injury.

A domestic violence sentence can affect a person’s career and housing prospects. A parent who is charged with domestic violence may even lose custody of their child (even if the child was not the target of the offense).

Understanding Assault Charges

In Ohio, assault can either be simple, negligent, felony or aggravated.

Simple assault is a misdemeanor for cause of reckless harm to someone else with penalties of up to six months in prison and $1,000 in fines. Negligent assault is the act of harming someone through misuse of a deadly weapon or firearm, which is a misdemeanor with up to 60 days in prison and $500 in fines.

Felony assault is the use of a firearm or deadly weapon with the intent of causing harm. A felony assault conviction is a felony that carries up to 11 years in prison and up to $20,000 in fines. An aggravated assault charge is a felony that carries up to six years in prison and $5,000 in fines if a person commits assault after being goaded by a victim.

Free Initial Consultation To Discuss Your Defense

To learn more about our criminal defense services and how we can help you, call a lawyer today at 513-716-5940 or send your question through our online contact form. We provide a free 30-minute initial consultation.

Criminal Defense

Kroener Hale Law Firm

A Family-Owned Law Firm
Committed to Serving
Your Family’s Needs