Operating a vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol can result in a range of penalties for Ohio drivers. If you face this type of charge, you may have concerns about the future of your driving privileges.
Learn about the factors that affect driver’s license suspension after an OVI in Ohio.
Administrative license suspension
If your blood alcohol content is over the legal limit at the scene of a traffic stop, the officer can confiscate your license right away. This administrative license suspension lasts at least 90 days depending on the circumstances of your case. If you refuse a BAC test, you can receive an ALS for a minimum of one year. In either case, you must maintain auto insurance and pay a reinstatement fee to get your license back after the suspension period.
In addition to the ALS, the court can order further license suspension when sentencing you for OVI. The term can last one to three years if you have no prior OVI convictions within 10 years. However, you can get a restricted license after 15 days by installing an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
For a second-time OVI, the license suspension term increases to a maximum of seven years. You must wait 45 days before you can apply for a restricted license. With two prior OVIs, the court can suspend your license for two to 10 years and you must serve at least 180 days before getting a restricted license.
Understanding the possible license suspension you may face after an OVI can help you determine your next steps as you prepare for your hearing.